Research Honour Roll – June 2019

In a new monthly feature, we’re highlighting honours and awards from our researchers across Unity Health Toronto.

Congratulations to all those who have received honours this month!

Dr. Prabhat Jha, director of the Centre for Global Health Research

Dr. Prabhat Jha has been named University Professor at the University of Toronto. This is the highest ranking at the University.

The University recognizes unusual scholarly achievement and pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge through the designation of University Professor. The number of such appointments does not generally exceed two per cent of the tenured faculty. Its exclusivity stands to underline the highly prestigious nature of the University Professor designation.

Congratulations to Dr. Jha on this recognition!

Congratulations to Dr. Peter Jüni, who has received the 2019 IMS Graduate Course Lecturer Award from the Institute of Medical Science at the University of Toronto.

This award is presented annually for a sustained contribution of three years or more to excellence in lecturing in an IMS graduate course.

Dr. Wanrudee Isaranuwatchai, director of the Centre for Excellence in Economic Analysis Research

Dr. Wanrudee Isaranuwatchai and her team working on the project, Assessing the Real-World Clinical and Economic Outcomes of Emerging Innovative Technologies in Oncology: The Cases of Biosimilars and CAR T-cell, have received funding through the OICR-CCO Health Services Research Network.

This project will evaluate the real-world health outcomes and economic impact of CAR T cell therapy in Ontario. Congratulations Dr. Isaranuwatchai!

Dr. Jennifer Watt, resident at St. Michael’s Hospital and researcher at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute

Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Watt, who has received a 2019 CIHR-IHSPR Rising Star Award from the CIHR Institute of Health Services and Policy Research.

Winners are selected for their excellence in research and/or knowledge translation, the innovation of their work and the potential impact of their work within the field of health services and policy research.

Dr. Eric Wong, resident at St. Michael’s Hospital and PhD candidate

Dr. Eric Wong has received a Vanier scholarship for his PhD project, Cost-effectiveness of the geriatrician-led comprehensive geriatric assessment: an economic evaluation in using public health care payer perspective.

Funded by the Government of Canada, Vanier Scholars demonstrate leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies in the social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and/or engineering and health. Congratulations Dr. Wong!

Recipients of funding for new initiatives focused on addressing Canada’s opioid crisis from the Substance Use and Addictions Program, the Harm Reduction Fund and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research

  1. The Ontario Naloxone Program for Pharmacies (ONPP) – Led by Drs. Tara Gomes and Tony Antoniou
  2. Evaluation of Overdose Prevention Sites (OPS) in Toronto – Led by Dr. Michelle Firestone
  3. Analysis of Spatial and Temporal Relationships in Ontario for Supervised Consumption and Overdose Prevention Evaluation (ASTROSCOPE)Led by Dr. Ahmed Bayoumi

Higgins Awards Recipients

Congratulations to our residents who participate in research and received this year’s Higgins Awards:

  • Robert Vanner – H. Patrick Higgins Memorial Scholarship Award of Merit
  • Ayodele Odutayo – Second place Higgins Award
  • Jalal Ebrahim – Third place Higgins Award
  • Nadia Gabarin – Best Poster Prize
  • Michael Colacci – Second place, Best Poster Award
  • Jane Liao – Third place, Best Poster Award
  • Natalie Won- Leadership Award
  • Anil Sharma – Citizenship Award
  • Khuloud Aldhaheri, Robert Vanner, Danielle Buell & Sagar Rohailla – Murray Muirhead Award recipients
  • Reena Pattani – Gerald Wong Award for undergraduate teaching excellence
  • Karen D’Silva, Yuna Lee, Iqwal Mangat, Reena Pattani, Aaron Thompson, Eric Tseng and Natalie Wong – SMH Department of Medicine Outstanding Postgraduate Teaching Awards
  • Nikki Goldberg – Joseph Connon Award

Congratulations to all those in Research who received honours, awards and achievements this month. Do you know of someone who’s been honoured recently? Email to submit their name to the Research Honour Roll.