In a new monthly feature, we’re highlighting honours and awards from our researchers across Unity Health Toronto.

Congratulations to all those who have received honours this month!

Dr. Michelle Sholzberg, associate-scientist at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute and medical director of the Coagulation Laboratory

Congratulations to Dr. Michelle Sholzberg, who has received the 2018 Jerry Scott Teaching Award from the St. Michael’s Hematology Division in recognition of her leadership in teaching.

Dr. Linda Maxwell, founder and executive director of the Biomedical Zone, scientist at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, and surgeon

Dr. Linda Maxwell received the Linda Grayson Leadership Award from Ryerson University. This award recognizes exceptional leadership.

Dr. Maxwell has demonstrated exceptional leadership through building an inclusive structure and collaborative culture at the Biomedical Zone.

More information can be found here. Congratulations Dr. Maxwell!

Dr. Deborah Kopansky-Giles, chiropractor and clinician-scientist with St. Michael’s Department of Family and Community Medicine

Congratulations to Dr. Deborah Kopansky-Giles, who received the World Federation of Chiropractic’s David Chapman-Smith Honor Award at the WFC Biennial Congress in Berlin.

This award recognizes individuals for their exceptional and distinguished service in helping to advance the growth and acceptance of the chiropractic profession at an international level.

More information about Dr. Kopansky-Giles and the award are available here online.

 Collaborative Health Research Project (CHRP) Recipients

In this round of the Collaborative Health Research Project (CHRP) funding, three projects led by St. Michael’s researchers received funding:

  1. Self-management in the age of complexity: An eHealth tool to support people experiencing problem gambling, poverty & homelessness

Led by Dr. Flora Matheson, scientist at the MAP Centre for Urban Health Solutions and Dr. Alireza Sadeghian, theme lead for the Healthcare Analytics & Applications theme at iBEST

  1. Using artificial intelligence to identify and predict delirium among hospitalized medical patients

Led by Dr. Fahad Razak and Dr. Amol Verma researchers at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute and internists at St. Michael’s

  1. Using “enhanced ultrasound” to help select the best kidneys for transplantation

Led by Dr. Darren Yuen, researcher at the Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science and nephrologist at St. Michael’s and Dr. Michael Kolios, co-director of iBEST

More information about each project can be found on the St. Michael’s website here. Congratulations to Dr. Matheson, Dr. Sadeghian, Dr. Razak, Dr. Verma, Dr. Yuen, Dr. Kolios and their collaborators!

Dr. Heyu Ni, platform director of Hematological and Immunological Diseases at the Keenan Research Centre for Biomedical Science

Dr. Heyu Ni’s hematology paper, “GPIbα is required for platelet-mediated hepatic thrombopoietin generation,was selected as the paper of the year for the Hematology Academic Day by the Division of Hematology at the University of Toronto. Congratulations Dr. Ni.

Tri-Council Doctoral Awards

Congratulations to Chloe Mighton, a student in Dr. Yvonne Bombard’s lab at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute for receiving a CIHR Doctoral Award.

Jesse Knight, who will start his PhD work to study the impact of heterogeneity in model structure on epidemic projections in Dr. Sharmistha Mishra’s lab in the MAP Centre for Urban Health Solutions has received an NSERC doctoral award. Congratulations!

Congratulations to all those in Research who received honours, awards and achievements this month. Do you know of someone who’s been honoured recently? Email to submit their name to the Research Honour Roll.