Departmental Impact Authorization – Contact Information



To obtain and demonstrate service or departmental authorization for this study:

  1. Request authorization via e-mail from all impacted departments. Each e-mail to the contact must (1) describe the impact of this study on the specific service(s)/resource(s)/clinical and community space(s) and (2) request explicit sign off on this study.
  2. Authorizing signatories will review your request and provide e-mail approval or non-approval.
  3. Once received, all impact descriptions and e-mail approvals must be included with your REB application.


Clinical Services Contacts:

BiobankSunit Das
Valeria Di Giovanni
BiosafetyNeha Chauhan
Health Professions/Interprofessional Practice (Nursing and support from other health disciplines)SMH: Jane Topolovec-Vranic
SJHC: Sarah Dimmock
PHC: Lorna Bain
Health RecordsNatalie Kouyoumdjian
Heart & Vascular Program/Medical Diagnostics
(Cath Lab, ECG & Echocardiography)
SMH: Desa Hobbs
SJHC: Donna Rampersad
Infection Prevention and Control (IPAC)SMH: Matthew Muller
SJHC: Thomas Dashwood
Laboratory MedicineSMH & SJHC: Precious Agboinghale
Medical Imaging, CT, MRI, UltrasoundSMH: Yangmei Li
SJHC: Lisa Hicks
Research MRISMH: Anthony Sheen
PharmacySMH: Laura Parsons
SJHC: Jiten Jani
Pulmonary Function LabSMH: Eva Leek
Research Facilities (access to core facilities such as -80 freezers, histology core, vivarium, etc.)Stephen Barker


Department/Division Contacts:

Department of Medicine (DoM)SMH Physician-in-Chief: Sharon Straus
SMH Clinical Program Director: Orla Smith
SJHC Physician-in-Chief: Urszula Zurawska
SJHC Clinical Program Director:
Department of Surgery (DoS)SMH Surgeon-in-Chief: Najma Ahmed
SMH Clinical Program Director: Tasha Osborne
SJHC Surgeon-in-Chief: Mary-Anne Aarts
SJHC Clinical Program Director: Laurie Thomas
AnaesthesiaSMH Department Chief: Andrew Baker
SJHC Department Chief: Robert Cirone
Cardiology, DoMSMH Division Head: Kim Connelly
SJHC Division Head: Anjali Anselm
Cardiovascular Surgery, DoSSMH Division Head: Bobby Yanagawa
Clinical Immunology/Allergy, DoMSMH Division Head: Peter Vadas
Critical CareSMH Department Chief: Andrew Baker
Critical Care/ICU, DoMSMH Division Head: Jan Friedrich
SMH Clinical Program Director: Tasha Osborne
SJHC Division Head: Joanne Meyer
SJHC Clinical Program Director: Laurie Thomas
DentistrySMH Department Chief: Karen Lee
*This includes any department/service whose patient enters the hospital through the emergency department (e.g. trauma)
SMH Department Chief**: Steve Lin (Interim)
SMH Clinical Program Director: Orla Smith
SJHC Department Chief: Joan Cheng
SJHC Clinical Program Director: TBD

**A separate Emergency Department impact assessment is required at SMH
Endocrinology, DoMSMH Division Head: Andrew Advani (Interim)
SJHC Division Head: Shagufta Khan
Family MedicineSMH Department Chief: Karen Weyman
SJHC Department Chief: Daphne Williams
Clinical Program Director: Linda Jackson
Gastroenterology, DoMSMH Division Head: Gary May
SJHC Division Head: Ian Bookman
General Internal Medicine, DoMSMH Division Head: Yuna Lee
SJHC Division Head: Heather Fieghen
General Surgery, DoSSMH Division Head Jory Simpson
SJHC Division Head: Paul Sullivan
Geriatrics, DoMSMH Division Head: Maria Zorzitto
SJHC Division Head: Fiona Menzies
Haematology, DoMSMH Division Head: Michelle Sholzberg
SJHC Division Head: Christie Kim
Infectious Diseases, DoMSMH Division Head: Linda Taggart (Interim)
SJHC Division Head: Kevin Schwartz
Laboratory MedicineSMH & SJHC Department Chief: Cathy Streutker
Medical/Diagnostic ImagingSMH Department Chief: Anish Kirpalani
SJHC Department Chief: Tara Williams
Nephrology, DoMSMH Division Head: Jeff Zaltzman
SJHC Division Head: Amrit Kang
Clinical Program Director: Jonathan Fetros
Neurology, DoMSMH Division Head: Gyl Midroni
SJHC Division Head: Dimitrios Dimitrakoudis
Neurosurgery, DoSDivision Head: Julian Spears
Obstetrics and GynaecologySMH Department Chief: Filomena Meffe
SJHC Department Chief: Sybil Judah
Occupational and Environmental Medicine, DoMSMH Division Head: Linn Holness (Interim)
Clinical Program Director: Joyce Fenuta
OncologySMH & SJHC Medical Director: Dr. Yoo-Joung Ko
Clinical Program Director: Joyce Fenuta
OphthalmologySMH Department Chief: David Wong
Ophthalmology, DoSSJHC Division Head: Larissa Derzko-Dzulynsky
Orthopaedic Surgery, DoSSMH Division Head: Amir Koshbin
SJHC Division Head: Carlos Lopez
OtolaryngologySMH Department Chief: Yvonne Chan
PaediatricsSMH Department Chief: Michael Sgro
SJHC Department Chief: Anne Wormsbecker
Plastic Surgery, DoSSMH Division Head: Blake Murphy
SJHC Division Head: Kyle Wanzel
PsychiatrySMH Department Chief: Karen Shin
SJHC Department Chief: Mariam Abdurrahman
Clinical Program Director: Janet Wilson
Rehabilitative CarePHC Department Chief: Ashley Verduyn
Respirology, DoMSMH Division Head: Christopher Li
SJHC Division Head: Matthew Heffer
Rheumatology, DoMSMH Division Head: Dharini Mahendira
SJHC Division Head: Jonathan Stein
Urology, DoSSMH Division Head: Ken Pace
SJHC Division Head: Ashis Chawla
Vascular Surgery, DoSSMH Division Head: Mark Wheatcroft
SJHC Division Head: Graham Roche-Nagle