Special Guests

Ian Jacobs

Ian Jacobs is the Clinical Services Director for St John Ambulance (WA) and Professor of Resuscitation and Pre-hospital care at Curtin University. He is a Clinical Epidemiologist with a clinical background as both a Paramedic and Registered Nurse (Emergency). He is also Western Australian State and National Chair of the Australian Resuscitation Council and is Co-chair of the International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation (ILCOR). Ian was one of four international evidence evaluation experts for the 2010 Consensus on Science process, as well as being a member of the international editorial board for Guidelines 2000 and 2005. In 2010 he was awarded Foundation Fellowship of the European Resuscitation Council in recognition of his contribution to Resuscitation Medicine. Ian has published widely with over 150 publications in peer reviewed journals, reports or textbooks and is a member of the editorial board for the journal Resuscitation and section editor (Pre-Hospital Care) for Emergency Medicine Australasia.

John Marshall

John Marshall is a Professor of Surgery at the University of Toronto, and a trauma surgeon and intensivist at St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto, Canada. His academic interests are sepsis, trauma, and the innate immune response. His laboratory studies the cellular mechanisms that prolong neutrophil survival in critical illness by preventing neutrophil programmed cell death, or apoptosis. Professor Marshall has an active clinical research interest in sepsis and ICU-acquired infection, and in the design of clinical trials and outcome measures. He has published more than 260 manuscripts, and 70 book chapters, and is the editor of 2 books. He is the founding chair of the International Forum of Acute Care Trialists (InFACT) – a global network of investigator-led critical care clinical research groups, and a member of the Council of the World Federation of Societies of Intensive and Critical Care Medicine and of the executive committee of the International Severe Acute Respiratory Infections Consortium. He is past-chair of the International Sepsis Forum, past-President of the Surgical Infection Society, and past-chair of the Canadian Critical Care Trials Group. He has given invited lectures at more than 400 meetings around the world, and is a member of the editorial boards of seven journals.

Vinay Nadkarni

Vinay Nadkarni is an Endowed Chair of Critical Care Medicine, Director of the Center for Simulation, Advanced Education and Innovation, and Associate Director of the Center for Resuscitation Science at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP), University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine. He is an internationally recognized physician-scientist with a lifetime commitment to the discovery, translation and implementation of shock, trauma and resuscitation science, authoring more than 250 peer-reviewed manuscripts 30 book chapters, and >100 keynote lectures around the world. He has trained, mentored and advised over 100 young physician-scientists, and received awards including the Society of Critical Care Medicine Asmund Laerdal Award for Lifetime Achievement, R-Baby Foundation National Pioneer Award, American Academy of Pediatrics Distinguished Career Award, and the American Heart Association’s Ron Haddock International Impact Award.