The Office of the Vice President, Research & Innovation (VPRI) supports and oversees nominations for Research Chairs and institution-led Awards and Honours.

Please review the eligibility criteria for each Award. For any questions, or to submit your name or a colleague’s name for consideration, contact

Also available is a searchable database of national and international Honours and Awards Opportunities , maintained by the University of Toronto Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation.

Sponsor TypeAward TitleAmount and DurationDescription Deadline
Other CanadianInnovative Medicines of Canada: Health Research Foundation Diversity & Equity in Research Award--It recognizes outstanding individuals whose work advances equitable participation in health research and access to health care in Canada, improving the well-being of all Canadians, particularly those facing inequities. Nominations are accepted from any Canadian individual or organization.
If you are interested in being considered for nomination, please let us know by email to no later than June 30th.
September 15, 2023.
Other Canadian2024 University of Toronto President’s Impact Awards$10,000 per year for 5 years to be used toward research.These annual awards celebrate and honour faculty members or teams whose research has led to significant impact beyond academia.
• Nominations are open to faculty members or teams with full-time academic appointments and whose research has led to significant impact beyond academia. This includes tenure-stream, teaching-stream, clinical faculty, and status-only faculty with full-time academic appointments.
• Nominations should be led by a Chair, Academic Director, Vice- or Associate-Dean, Research, or Vice-Principal, Research as appropriate, and must be endorsed by the nominee’s academic division.
• Nominees whose research impact is related to public policy may be simultaneously nominated for the Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award.
Internal Deadline: If you are interested in being considered for nomination, please submit a 1 page (maximum) description of your impact outside of academia (not publications, grants, keynote lectures, etc. – but impact outside of the academic sphere that has occurred as a result of your research) to, and attach your recent CV by August 31, 2023. If you have been previously nominated, and are eligible and interested in being considered, instead of the 1-page description and CV, you can instead send an updated CV and a copy of your previous submission.
U of T Deadline: November 3, 2023.
CIHR Other: Travel Awards – Institute Community SupportThe maximum value varies by Institute/Initiative, but has a minimum of $1,500 and will not exceed $5,000. Each award is for 1 year.These Awards provide travel funds to trainees, Early Career Researchers, or knowledge users in aid of research and knowledge translation activities consistent with the CIHR Initiative’s priorities or CIHR Institutes’ vision, mandate and strategic directionsEach participating Institute/Initiative has their own relevant Research Areas, outlined in the Sponsor Description section of this funding opportunity.October 11, 2023.
Temerty Medicine Research Excellence Award$10,000. The winning applicants will also have their submission materials revised by grant writing experts in the U of T Office of the Vice Dean, Research and Heath Science Education (RHSE) and submitted to an external award competition in the 12-month period following the award competition. This award will go to two early- to mid-career faculty members at the Temerty Faculty of Medicine. One will be awarded to a researcher in the basic sciences, and the other to a researcher in the clinical sciences. To be eligible, applicants must be faculty (Assistant, Associate or Full Professor) at Temerty Medicine. For this award, applicants must be within 15 years of beginning their first independent research position (formal leaves will be taken into account). To be considered, applicants must submit a complete Temerty Faculty of Medicine Research Awards Dossier.Deadlines:
Expression of Interest: October 26, 2023.
Full Application: November 24, 2023.
Other CanadianRoyal Society of Canada (RSC)--College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists: The College is Canada’s first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership. The membership enables the participation of early- and mid-career faculty in the activities of the RSC. Eligibility: Candidates must be no more than 15 years from the conferral of the PhD or equivalent qualification.
RSC Fellowship: The fellowship recognizes leaders is research and innovation with exceptional intellectual achievements that have been demonstrated through a body of publications, intellectual endeavours or creative activities exhibiting original contributions in the arts, humanities or sciences, as well as in public life. Eligibility: Individual scholars who are Canadian citizens or have been Canadian permanent residents for at least 3 years.
Internal Deadline: If you are interested in being considered for nomination, please send an email that indicates your interest in either the College or Fellowship to and attach your recent CV by August 8, 2023.
RSC Submission Deadline: December 1, 2023.
Other CanadianCMA Award Nominations--The VPRI Office seeks individuals who are interested in being nominated for a CMA award this fall (expected deadline Nov. 30th). CVs of interested individuals will be reviewed by our Awards and Honours Selection Committee in September to determine which nomination(s) we will support this year. Available awards include (more awards listed on the CMA website):
• Owen Adams Award of Honour: Highest CMA award available to a non-physician.
• Dr. Léo-Paul Landry Medal of Service: Awarded to a CMA member who has made exceptional contributions to the advancement of health care in Canada.
• The F.N.G. Starr Award: The highest CMA award available to one of its members. Recognizes outstanding and inspiring lifetime achievement.
• The May Cohen Award for Women Mentors: Presented to a female physician and CMA member who has demonstrated outstanding mentoring.
• The Awards for Young Leaders: For two early-career physicians who are within five years post-residency.
Internal Deadline: If you wish to be considered for one of these awards please send your CV to by August 8th, 2023.
Anticipated Sponsor Deadline: November 30, 2023.
InternationalKarolinska Institutet Prize for Research in Medical Education 2024€ 100 000.The purpose of the prize is to recognize and stimulate high-quality research in medical education, thereby promoting long-term improvements in educational practices. ‘Medical’ includes all education and training within any health science profession.Sponsor Deadline: September 10, 2023.
InternationalUS National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Membership--Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Currently, a maximum of 120 members may be elected annually. Members must be US citizens; non-citizens are elected as foreign associates, with a maximum of 30 elected annually. Nominations are accepted at any time from current NAS members based in the US.